You should contact coach Mahnke in advance if you are unable to be at any of the scheduled events below. Conflicts happen but they should be minimal.

 

2023-24 Season

October 19, 3:20-4:20 @ Room 1104 Mr. Engelbrecht's classroom

This will be our initial meeting. We will begin to organize our team (determine responsibilities such as programmers, marketing, mascot, pit crew, etc.), layout the expectations, introduce mentors, review our calendar of events and prepare for the build season.

 

November 6, 3:20-5:20 @ Computer Lab - MARKETING TEAM only
November 13, 3:20-5:20 @ Computer Lab - MARKETING TEAM only
November 27, 3:20-5:20 @ Computer Lab - MARKETING TEAM only

December 4, 3:20-5:20 @ Computer Lab - MARKETING TEAM only
December 11, 3:20-5:20 @ Computer Lab - MARKETING TEAM only
 

December 2, 8:30 – 2:00 Saturday @ Holmen (click here for details)

This will be our training day with all the other robotics teams in the area (7 Rivers Robotics Coalition www.7rrc.org). Lots of information for the beginners to the seasoned veterans.   

Workshops on some of the following topics:

  • General FIRST Information
  • What to expect during the build season
  • What to expect at a tournament
  • Design process and concept selection
  • Mock design selection
  • Programming concepts
  • Programming n Java
  • Networking
  • Sensors
  • Electronics & control systems
  • Introduction to motors, speed Controllers, Power Distribution Block
  • Sensors
  • Introduction to structural parts
  • Pneumatics System

 

December ?, Saturday @ Luther - Tentative Workshop Introduction

Mentors will show you how to cut, bend, form, etc. metal and work safely. You will learn how to use the Luther workshop for creating our robot. This is not a manditory meeting and is only intented for those who have a high interest in the application of machining parts. Space is limited. More information will be coming once the date is confirmed.

 

 

January – February – This will be the primary build season.

   

Week Date Day Time Event  
Week 1 1/6/2024 Saturday 10:30-2:30 Kickoff  
Week 1 1/8/2024 Monday 3:20-5:20 Practice determine robot design
Week 1 1/9/2024 Tuesday 3:20-5:20 Practice start design
Week 1 1/10/2024 Wednesday 6:00-8:00 Practice  
Week 1 1/11/2024 Thursday 6:00-8:00 Practice  
Week 2 1/13/2024 Saturday 9:00-12:00 Practice complete design
Week 2 1/15/2024 Monday 3:20-5:20 Practice programming begins
Week 2 1/16/2024 Tuesday 3:20-5:20 Practice  
Week 2 1/17/2024 Wednesday 6:00-8:00 Practice complete drive train
Week 2 1/18/2024 Thursday 6:00-8:00 Practice  
Week 3 1/20/2024 Saturday 9:00-12:00 Practice  
Week 3 1/22/2024 Monday 3:20-5:20 Practice  
Week 3 1/23/2024 Tuesday 3:20-5:20 Practice  
Week 3 1/24/2024 Wednesday 6:00-8:00 Practice  
Week 3 1/25/2024 Thursday 6:00-8:00 Practice  
Week 4 1/27/2024 Saturday 9:00-12:00 Practice  
Week 4 1/29/2024 Monday 3:20-5:20 Practice  
Week 4 1/30/2024 Tuesday 3:20-5:20 Practice bumpers finished
Week 4 1/31/2024 Wednesday 6:00-8:00 Practice  
Week 4 2/1/2024 Thursday 6:00-8:00 Practice  
Week 5 2/3/2024 Saturday 9:00-12:00 Practice complete build
Week 5 2/5/2024 Monday 3:20-5:20 Practice  
Week 5 2/6/2024 Tuesday 3:20-5:20 Practice  
Week 5 2/7/2024 Wednesday 6:00-8:00 Practice  
Week 5 2/8/2024 Thursday 6:00-8:00 Practice programming completed
Week 6 2/10/2024 Saturday 9:00-12:00 Practice testing & reprogramming
Week 6 2/12/2024 Monday 3:20-5:20 Practice testing & reprogramming
Week 6 2/13/2024 Tuesday 3:20-5:20 Practice practice maneuvering robot
Week 6 2/14/2024 Wednesday 3:20-5:20 Practice

NOTE: Lenten Services begin this day so practice is earlier.

practice maneuvering robot

Week 6 2/15/2024 Thursday 6:00-8:00 Practice Hand out t-shirts & take team photo
Week 6 2/16/2024 Friday 6:00-9:00 Help setup for Scrimmage Mentors & maybe some students
Week 7 2/17/2024 Saturday 9:00-12:00 Practice for Scrimmage All students, some may stay longer into the afternoon
Week 7 2/18/2024 Sunday 11:00-6:00 Scrimmage All students
Week 7 2/19/2024 Monday 3:20-5:20 Practice practice maneuvering robot
Week 7 2/20/2024 Tuesday 3:20-5:20 Bag & Tag pack up robot, clean up rooms & prep pit for competition

 

  

 

 


    

February 26 (Monday before competition) - 3:20-5:00 Pack trailer with robot & pit

We will need the robot build crew to determine what tools & spare parts to take to the tournament. The pit crew also needs to pack all the equipment needed for the tournament into the trailer and rehearse loading and unloading.

 

February 28-March 2, 2024 - Regional Competition in Duluth, MN
(only select team members particiapate - $300 fee for hotel, meal, travel expenses)

Wed – 12:30pm - pack up, leave for the competition, setup pit
Thur - 8:00-8:00 Setup pit, practice rounds AM, qualification rounds PM
Fri - 8:00-8:00 Qualification rounds
Sat - 8:00-6:00 Qualification rounds AM, Championship rounds PM, Awards Ceremonies


 

April 1 (Monday before competition) - 3:20-5:00 Pack trailer with robot & pit

We will need the robot build crew to determine what tools & spare parts to take to the tournament. The pit crew also needs to pack all the equipment needed for the tournament into the trailer and rehearse loading and unloading.

 

April 3-6, 2024 – Regional Competition in La Crosse, WI - La Crosse Center

Wednesday – 3:00pm - pack up, leave for the competition, setup pit

Thurday - 8:00-8:00 Setup pit, practice rounds AM, qualification rounds PM

Friday - 8:00-8:00 Qualification rounds

Saturday - 8:00-8:00 Qualification rounds AM, Championship rounds PM, Awards Ceremonies, we are TAKEDOWN crew and stay late!


April 17-20, 2024 - National Championship in Houston, TX

If we make it to the Championships...Tentative Schedule:

Tuesday
                12:00ish? - Leave on bus, stay in hotel

Wednesday

                3:00 – arrive, get in hotel?

                4:00 – Pits open to ONLY 5 team reps

                8:30 – Pits close

Thursday

                7:00 – Pits open

                9:00-12:00 – Practice Matches

                1:00-6:00 – Qualification Matches

                8:00 – Pits close

Friday

                7:00 – Pits open

                8:30-9:15 – Opening Ceremonies

    9:30-12:00 – Qualification Matches

                1:00-6:00 – Qualification Matches

                7:00 – Pits close

Saturday

                7:00 – Pits open

                8:15-10:30 – Qualification Matches

    10:30-11:00 – Alliance Selections

                12:00-2:30 – Division Matches

                2:30-3:00 – Awards

                4:00-6:00 – Championship Matches & Awards

                5:00 – Pits close

                7:30-9:00 – “FIRST Night Out” event

                  9:30 leave for Onalaska, stay in hotel

Sunday

                10:00ish – arrive Onalaska

 

Other meetings will be announced as necessary.